Associated Students of College of the Desert

ASCOD Student Senate

Agenda for April 29, 2024

2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Join the meeting in OSL Conference Room Dining Hall, 114 A or Via Zoom Meeting

ASCOD Zoom Link

Meeting ID 817 0864 1202

1. Organizational Items:

Call to Order:	
Roll Call:	
Approval of Agenda:	April 29, 2024
Approval of Minutes:	April 22, 2024

2. Public Comment:

Letters and remarks from interested students: Any member of the public who wishes to address the ASCOD Student Senate on any matter is limited to three (3) minutes. The total time for members of the public to speak on the same or similar issues shall be limited to fifteen (15) minutes. The ASCOD Student Senate welcomes your comments; however, we are unable to respond to those comments at this time.

3. Guest Speaker:

4. Reports:

President

Vice President

Secretary

Student Trustee

Officer of Academic Affairs

Officer of Communications

Officer of External Affairs

Officer of Fiscal Affairs

Senators

Advisors

5. Action Items:

Consent Items: These items are intended to be routine and non-controversial. They will be acted upon by the Student Senate at one time without discussion. Any member of the Student Senate or any COD student may request that any item be removed from this section for discussion.



Unfinished Business:

New Business:

Club Charter:

6. Information/Discussion Items

- **6.1 ASCOD Election Rules –** The ASCOD Student Senate will discuss the campaign rules with attending candidates.
- **6.2 ASCOD Mission Statement –** ASCOD Student Senate will discuss the mission statement and any possible edits.
- **6.3 The Last Rodeo-** ASCOD Student Senate will discuss any updates regarding the ICC event, The Last Rodeo, which is occurring May 9th, 2024.
- **6.4 ASCOD Voting Booth Tabling** ASCOD Student Senate will discuss staffing for voting booths occurring May 7-9th.

7 Committee and Taskforce Reports

ASCOD STANDING COMMITTEES

7.1 Budget and Finance: Chair: K. Olson Members: M. Nunley, K. Thomas, C. Martinez	7.2Executive Council: Chair: K. Merchant Members: D. Nunley, M. Nunley, I. Zarco, K. Olson, D. Upp, F. Robles, M. Escobar
7.3 Constitution and Bylaws: Chair: M. Escobar Members: K. Merchant, K. Olson 7.5 Equity and Diversity: Chair: D. Nunley Members: F. Robles, K. Thomas R. Dunn	7.4 Governmental Relations: Chair: F. Robles Members: I. Zarco, M. Escobar, R. Dunn 7.6 Public Relations: Chair: D. Upp Members: D. Nunley, F. Robles, C. Martinez, R. Dunn, M. Nunley
7.7 Events: Chair: K. Olson Members: M. Nunley, M. Escobar, K. Merchant, D. Upp	7.8 Elections Committee: Chair: K. Merchant Members: F. Robles, C. Martinez, I. Zarco

COD STANDING COMMITTEES

7.09 Academic Calendar Committee: K. Thomas	7.10 Assessment of Planning & Outcomes (APO) (CPC sub-committee): M. Nunley
7.11 Bookstore Advisory Committee: I. Zarco, K. Merchant	7.12 Budget Sub-Committee: K. Olson
7.13 College Planning Council (CPC): K. Merchant, I. Zarco	7.14 Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee: K. Merchant

7.15 Data Evaluation Sub-Committee: K. Olson	7.16 Diversity Committee: D. Nunley
7.17 DSPS Advisory Committee: K. Thomas	7.18 Enrollment Management Committee: M. Jensen
7.19 EOPS/CARE and Foster Youth Advisory Committee: M. Nunley	7.20 Equity Committee: Y. Lopez
7.21 Facilities Advisory Committee: M. Escobar	7.22 Food Services Advisory Committee: D. Upp, D. Nunley, C. Martinez, F. Robles
7.23 Gender and Sexual Diversity Pride Center Advisory Committee: K. Thomas (C. Martinez)	7.24 Matriculation/SSSP Advisory Committee: F. Robles
7.25 Outreach/Training (CPC Sub-Committee): C. Martinez	7.26 Safety Committee:
7.27 Transfer Advisory Committee: M. Nunley	7.28 Academic Senate: M. Escobar
7.29 COD Foundation Board: D. Upp	7.30 Information and Technology Systems: K. Olson
7.31 Faculty Development Committee: R. Dunn (D. Upp)	7.32 OER/ZTC Committee: M. Escobar (D. Upp)

COD ACADEMIC SENATE COMMITTEES

7.33 Curriculum Committee:	7.34 Educational Policies and Practices: Y. Lopez
7.35 Educational Technologies and Distance	7.36 Outcomes and Assessment Committee: F. Robles
Education: M. Nunley (F. Robles)	
7.36 Dual and Concurrent Enrollment Committee:	
K. Olson	

COD/ASCOD AD-HOC COMMITTEES

The Accreditation Workgroup:	Resource Lunches Committee: Chair: I. Zarco, Members: K. Olson, D. Nunley, M. Escobar, D. Upp
Calendar Schedule Workgroup: Y. Lopez-Martinez (K. Merchant)	Website Redesign Steering Committee: M. Nunley, F. Robles, C. Martinez

8 Communication from the floor: This is the time provided so that any member of the ASCOD Student Senate may address any issues or concerns or bring forward information for general discussion.

9 Adjournment