

# Academic Senate – All Faculty

# Agenda for February 13, 2025

## 12:30 pm - 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/j/84954519219?pwd=M7bWGOeMUIZvKeLnB3WnBiTVr1RQrP.1

Academic Senate Mission Statement: As the official voice of faculty in academic and professional matters at the College of the Desert, the Academic Senate is committed to equity, student learning and student success. The Academic Senate at College of the Desert is committed to:

Lead and advocate proactively for the development of policies, processes, and practices that benefit student success and develop faculty leaders;

Include diverse faculty, perspectives, and experiences that represent our student populations in our decision making;

Empowering faculty to engage the shared governance of College of the Desert in the 10+1 areas and to take-action for continued improvement of teaching, learning, and faculty participation in the areas of:

1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
2. Degree and certificate requirements
3. Grading policies
4. Educational program development and educational program discontinuance
5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self- study and annual reports
8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
9. Processes for program review
10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
ig* Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon

between the governing board and the academic senate.

## Senate Executive Members:

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Jenne Carey, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment, Sarah Gaete, Adjunct

## Senators:

Oceana Collins, Social Sciences; Talon Hart Health Sciences & Education/DE; Giuseppe Vezzoli, Science & Engineering; Jorge Pérez, Math & Computer; Cameron Miller, Applied Science; Victoria Bautista, General Counseling; Marina Church, Communication and Humanities, Vacant, Student Support Services & Library; Kurt Struwe, Business; Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media; Lisa Davenport, Adjunct

# **Guests:**

**Recorder:** 

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

**Quorum 9 Majority 10:** 

Subject to Brown Act: Yes

# 1. Call to Order/Roll Call

1.1Public Comments

# 2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of December 12, 2024, Minutes
- 2.3 Consent
  - 2.3.1 Emeritus Resolution 1.991 Jim Matthews
- 2.4 Items removed from Consent
- 2.5 Second Readings
  - 2.5.1 Resolution 1.92 Defining Open Educational Resources and Textbook Cost Initiative Implementation <u>2nd Reading</u>
  - 2.5.2 Resolution 1.96 Outstanding Roadrunner of the Year Awards 2nd Reading
  - 2.5.3 AP 4050 Second Reading (Committee Origin: EPP) Second Reading
- 2.6 First Readings
  - 2.6.1 Resolution 3.61 BOTs (Committee Origin: ETDE) First Reading

#### 3. Information/Discussion Items

3.1 Student Spotlight: Japanese Students

- 3.2 IT Updates and Website Stuart Davis
- 3.3 Student Services/Commencement Updates Amanda Phillips
- 3.4 ASCCC Spring Plenary and Part-Time Faculty Institute Corbyn Wild
  - Spring Plenary: April 24-26 Irvine, CA
  - Part-Time Faculty Institute: April 10–12 San Diego, CA
- 3.5 Elections (President, Chair Ed Tech & Distance Ed, Chair Faculty Development)
  - Nominations will open on February 3, 2025
  - Nominations will close Monday March 5, 2025
  - Candidate Speeches will be on March 13, 2025
  - Election Committee will send ballots (via Simply Voting) the week of March 17, 2025
  - Balloting will close 10 days after ballots are sent
  - Winning candidates will be announced at April 10<sup>th</sup> Academic Senate meeting

#### From Senate Bylaws/Senate Procedures II:

The President of the Senate shall appoint a Nominations and Elections Committee of three (3) Senate members by February of each year and submit a call for elections by the end of February. Candidates may be either nominated by fellow faculty members or self-nominate. Nominated faculty shall provide a statement of candidacy to the Nominations and Elections Committee for inclusion with ballot materials.

Nominations will close 30 days after they are opened. Nominated faculty may state their candidacy publicly at any point in the process, and at the faculty Senate meeting following the closing of nominations. Candidates will have three minutes to speak.

Voting will be handled electronically by the Nominations and Elections Committee. The Committee will send electronic ballots within five (5) working days after nominations are closed and tallied when the election window closes ten (10) days after the electronic ballots are sent.

Nominations for the Adjunct Faculty Representatives will be handled in the same manner; elections will be handled electronically by the Junior Adjunct Senate representative each year.

# 4. Committee Chair Reports

- 1. EPP: Kurt Spurgin
- 2. ASCOD:
- 3. ETDE: Jenne Carey
- 4. FDC: Leif Jordan
- 5. OAC: Kristie Camacho
- 6. Adjuncts: Sarah Gaete, Lisa Davenport
- 7. Curriculum: John Learned

- 8. President: Corbyn Wild
- 5. Good of the Order
- 6. Future Agenda Topics
- 7. Adjournment

Next Meeting February 27, 2025