

# Academic Senate – All Faculty Draft Agenda for Thursday April 25, 2024

12:30 pm - 1:50 pm Cravens MPR

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/j/84954519219?pwd=M7bWGOeMUIZvKeLnB3WnBiTVr1ROrP.1

Meeting ID: 849 5451 9219 Passcode: Cod123

COLLEGE OF THE DESERT MISSION: College of the Desert is an inclusive, student-centered community college providing high-quality degree, certificate, and transfer programs that are accessible, affordable, and responsive to the diverse needs of students and our community. By preparing workforce professionals and leaders, the College enhances the local economy, closes persistent equity gaps, and improves the quality of life in the Coachella Valley and surrounding communities

\*\*\*Persons with disabilities may make a written request for a disability-related modification or accommodation, including for auxiliary aids or services, to take part in the Senate meeting. Requests should be directed to the Academic Senate President and/or Secretary as soon in advance of the Senate meeting as possible. The Senate minutes of the meeting are the official record of the actions of the Senate. The Senate meetings are governed by the Ralph M. Brown Act (California Code 54950 through 54962).

## **Senate Executive Members:**

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Donna Greene, Cora Leighton, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment; Mike Gladych, Adjunct

#### Senators:

Sarah Gaete, Adjunct; Cameron Miller, Applied Science; Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media; Kurt Struwe, Business; Ed Reed, Communication & Humanities; Victoria Bautista, General Counseling; Amy Hetherington, Health Sciences; Maria Herrera, Library, DE, Student Support Services; Jorge Perez, Math & Computer Science; Giuseppe Vezzoli, Science & Engineering; Eliu Benavides, Social Sciences; Madigan Ray Escobar, Student Liaison

## Recorder:

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

**Quorum 9 Majority 10 Subject to Brown Act: Yes** 

- 1. Call to Order/Roll Call
- 1.1 Public Comments

### 2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of April 11, 2024 Minutes
- 2.3 Consent
  - 2.3.1 Curriculum Committee: Curriculum Courses Approved through April 18, 2024
  - 2.3.2 Resolution 1.170 Emeritus Joana Ciurash
- 2.4 Items removed from Consent
- 2.5 Second Reading
  - 2.5.1 Resolution 4.10 Flex Modality Definitions
  - 2.5.2 Resolution 6.13 Curriculum Timelines Resolutions
  - 2.5.3 AP 4227 Repeatable Courses
  - 2.5.4 AP 4103 Work Experience Education
- 2.6 First Reading
  - 2.6.1 Resolution 6.14 Adoption of New Local General Education Pattern

## **Information/Discussion Items**

- 2.1 Retirement and Emeriti Celebration May 20th 11- 12
- 2.2 Senate Committee Appointments
- 2.3 Senate Administrative Coverage after May 1st

# 3. Reports/Updates

- 3.1 Adjunct Sarah Gaete, Mike Gladych
- 3.2 Curriculum John Learned
- 3.3 Ed Tech & Distance Ed Donna Greene, Cora Leighton
- 3.4 OAC (Outcomes & Assessment) Kristie Camacho
- 3.5 Faculty Development Leif Jordan
- 3.6 EPP (Educational Policies and Practices) Kurt Spurgin
- 3.7 Student Rep
- 3.8 Senate President Corbyn Wild

## 4. Good of the Order

# 5. Future Agenda Topics

## 6. Adjournment

Next Meeting: Thursday April 11, 2024, CSSC MPR 12:30 pm - 1:50 pm