Navigate Up
Sign In

Liberal Arts 


The Liberal Arts A.A. Degree is designed for students who wish a broad knowledge of liberal arts and sciences plus additional coursework in an “Area of Emphasis”.  This area of emphasis would be an ideal choice for students planning on transferring to the California State University or University of California as the student can satisfy their general education requirements, plus focus on transferable course work that relates to majors at CSU or UC. Please consult with a counselor for specific information regarding your intended major at the specific colleges/university of your choice. For more information please contact the COD Counseling Center at 760-773-2520.
 
·         Choose either the California State University General Education Certification (Option 1) or the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (Option 2) for the General Education pattern related to your educational goal;
·        
Complete 18 units in one “Area of Emphasis” from those outlined below. (Note: Where appropriate, courses in the “area of emphasis” may also be counted toward a GE area; see a counselor for appropriate course selection).
·        
For ALL OPTIONS: complete necessary College of the Desert Graduation and Proficiency requirements (See COD Catalog, page 57).
·        
All courses listed below transfer to CSU. Courses in BOLD also are transferable to UC. Refer to www.ASSIST.org for transfer details or see a counselor or faculty advisor for additional details. (* indicates that transfer credit is limited by UC.)
 

AREAS OF EMPHASIS:
 

 

Counseling Faculty:

Eve-Marie Andrews
emandrews@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-773-2503
Basil Augustine
baugustine@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-773-2524
Khanh Hoang
khoang@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-776-7424
Maria Jasso
mjasso@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-773-2593
Elise King
eking@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-862-1360
James Rose
jrose@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-568-7519
Fred Sangiorgio
fsangiorgio@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-776-7345
Jose Simo
jsimo@collegeofthedesert.edu 760-776-7356