Facebook Pixel for Tracking
Navigate Up
Sign In
Skip to Content

COD Board of Trustees Election Results and Appointment of Officers

Two of the five elected trustees were up for re-election at Desert Community College District (DCCD) the governing Board for College of the Desert (COD). Bonnie Stefan, Ed.D., ran unopposed so her name did not appear on the ballot and she was automatically re-elected for another four year term. On the ballot was interim Trustee for Area 3, Fred Jandt, Ph.D., who is completing the term vacated by Michael O’Neill last December and Mary Jane Sanchez-Fulton for Area 2. Jandt and Sanchez-Fulton were elected to represent their areas for the four year term.

Each of the five elected trustees represents a geographic area and must reside in that area in order to run for that seat. In the past, trustees were elected at-large by all voters in the community college district. This method of election can be challenged under the California Voting Rights Act of 2001. To remain in compliance with the Act, the trustees changed to a system whereby they are elected by the population in their specific area of representation. Additionally, as a result of the 2010 census, the trustee area boundaries were adjusted to re-establish equal population in each area.

Sanchez-Fulton represents Area 2 which is north of the I-10 freeway from Desert Hot Springs to Desert Center. Sanchez-Fulton was challenged by Breanna Sewell and Adam Sanchez, Sr., but was successful in her run for re-election, winning 39.41% of the vote to Sewell’s 32.68% and Sanchez’s 27.91%. Sanchez-Fulton was first elected in 2012.

Jandt represents Area 3 which includes Palm Springs and parts of Cathedral City and Rancho Mirage. Jandt was challenged by Everett Martin and Ron Hallett. Jandt received 53.28% of the vote to Martin’s 23.92% and Hallett’s 22.8%.

Stefan represents Area 5 which is roughly Indio and Bermuda Dunes. She was first elected in 1999.

Officers were appointed at the December 16th Board of Trustees’ meeting as follows:  Chair, Aurora Wilson; Vice Chair, Becky Broughton; Clerk, Bonnie Stefan, Ed.D.

Information about the Board of Trustees, meeting schedules, agendas, and other important information, can be found on the website.