

Academic Senate – All Faculty Draft Agenda for Thursday February 8, 2024

12:30 pm - 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/j/84954519219?pwd=M7bWGOeMUIZvKeLnB3WnBiTVr1RQrP.1

Meeting ID: 849 5451 9219 Passcode: Cod123

COLLEGE OF THE DESERT MISSION: College of the Desert is an inclusive, student-centered community college providing high-quality degree, certificate, and transfer programs that are accessible, affordable, and responsive to the diverse needs of students and our community. By preparing workforce professionals and leaders, the College enhances the local economy, closes persistent equity gaps, and improves the quality of life in the Coachella Valley and surrounding communities

***Persons with disabilities may make a written request for a disability-related modification or accommodation, including for auxiliary aids or services, to take part in the Senate meeting. Requests should be directed to the Academic Senate President and/or Secretary as soon in advance of the Senate meeting as possible. The Senate minutes of the meeting are the official record of the actions of the Senate. The Senate meetings are governed by the Ralph M. Brown Act (California Code 54950 through 54962).

Senate Executive Members:

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Yolanda Bender, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment; Mike Gladych, Adjunct

Senators:

Sarah Gaete, Adjunct; Cameron Miller, Applied Science; Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media; Kurt Struwe, Business; Ed Reed, Communication & Humanities; Victoria Bautista, General Counseling; Amy Hetherington, Health Sciences; Maria Herrera, Library, DE, Student Support Services; Jorge Perez, Math & Computer Science; Giuseppe Vezzoli, Science & Engineering; Eliu Benavides, Social Sciences; Denzel Garcia, Student Liaison

Recorder:

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

Quorum 9 Majority 10 Subject to Brown Act: Yes

- 1. Call to Order/Roll Call
- 1.1 Public Comments

2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of December 14, 2024, Minutes
- 2.3 Consent
- 2.4 Items removed from Consent
- 2.5 Second Reading
 - 2.5.1 <u>Dual Enrollment Advisory Committee Charter</u>, Second Reading.

3. Information/Discussion Items

- 3.1 Student Spotlight International Students
- 3.2 IT Updates Stuart Davis
- 3.3 Administrative Services Updates Rod Garcia
- 3.4 Prioritization Rubric- Link
- 3.5 Senate Elections and Faculty of Year

4. Reports/Updates

- 4.1 Student Rep
- 4.2 EPP (Ed Policies & Practices) Kurt Spurgin
- 4.3 ETDE (Ed Tech & Distance Education) Yolanda Bender
- 4.4 OAC Kristie Camacho
- 4.5 FDC (Faculty Development Committee) Leif Jordan
- 4.6 Curriculum John Learned
- 4.7 Adjuncts Mike Gladych, Sarah Gaete
- 4.8 Senate President Corbyn Wild

5. Good of the Order

6. Future Agenda Topics

7. Adjournment

Next Meeting: Thursday February 22, 2024, CSSC MPR 12:30 pm - 1:50 pm