

Academic Senate – All Faculty

Draft Agenda for Thursday December 14, 2023

12:30 pm - 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/j/84954519219?pwd=M7bWGOeMUIZvKeLnB3WnBiTVr1RQrP.1

COLLEGE OF THE DESERT MISSION: College of the Desert is an inclusive, student-centered community college providing high-quality degree, certificate, and transfer programs that are accessible, affordable, and responsive to the diverse needs of students and our community. By preparing workforce professionals and leaders, the College enhances the local economy, closes persistent equity gaps, and improves the quality of life in the Coachella Valley and surrounding communities

***Persons with disabilities may make a written request for a disability-related modification or accommodation, including for auxiliary aids or services, to take part in the Senate meeting. Requests should be directed to the Academic Senate President and/or Secretary as soon in advance of the Senate meeting as possible. The Senate minutes of the meeting are the official record of the actions of the Senate. The Senate meetings are governed by the Ralph M. Brown Act (California Code 54950 through 54962).

Senate Executive Members:

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Yolanda Bender, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment; Christina Dodough, Adjunct

Senators:

Sarah Gaete, Adjunct; Cameron Miller, Applied Science; Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media; Kurt Struwe, Business; Ed Reed, Communication & Humanities; Victoria Bautista, General Counseling; Amy Hetherington, Health Sciences; Maria Herrera, Library, DE, Student Support Services; Jorge Perez, Math & Computer Science; Giuseppe Vezzoli, Science & Engineering; Eliu Benavides, Social Sciences; Denzel Garcia, Student Liaison

Recorder:

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

Quorum 9 Majority 10 Subject to Brown Act: Yes

- 1. Call to Order/Roll Call
- 1.1 Public Comments
- 2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of November 9, 2023, <u>Draft Minutes</u>
- 2.3 Consent
 - 2.3.1 Curriculum Courses Approved through <u>December 5, 2023</u>
 - 2.3.2 AP 4070 Course Auditing and Auditing Fees
 - 2.3.3 AP 4105 <u>Distance and Correspondence Education</u>
 - 2.3.4 AP 4222 <u>Developmental Coursework</u> (formerly Basic Skills Coursework)
 - 2.3.5 AP 4230 Grading and Academic Record Symbols
 - 2.3.6 AP 4232 Pass/No Pass
 - 2.3.7 AP 4250 Probation
 - 2.3.8 Faculty Development Committee Sabbaticals Approved <u>December, 2023</u>
 - 2.3.9 Faculty Development Committee Professional Advancement Approved <u>December</u>, 2023
- 2.4 Items removed from Consent
- 2.5 Second Reading
 - 2.5.1 Adjunct Subcommittee Charter Amendment, 2nd Reading
- 2.6 First Reading
 - 2.6.1 Dual Enrollment Advisory Committee Charter, First Reading

3. Information/Discussion Items

- 3.1 Office of President Update Interim President Laura Hope
- 3.2 ASCCC Advocacy Gwen Earle 2023 Fall Plenary Adopted Resolutions
- 3.3 Baccalaureate Degree Update Corbyn Wild Proposed Application Baccalaureate Degree

4. Reports/Updates

- 4.1 Adjuncts Christina Dodough/Sarah Gaete
- 4.2 EPP (Ed Policies & Practices) Kurt Spurgeon
- 4.3 Curriculum John Learned
- 4.4 OAC Kristie Camacho
- 4.5 FDC (Faculty Development Committee) Leif Jordan
- 4.6 ETDE (Ed Tech & Distance Education) Yolanda Bender
- 4.7 Student Rep
- 4.8 Senate President Corbyn Wild

5. Good of the Order

6. Future Agenda Topics

7. Adjournment

Next Meeting: Thursday February 8, 2023, CSSC MPR 12:30 pm - 1:50 pm