

Academic Senate – All Faculty

Agenda for Thursday September 14, 2023

12:30 pm - 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/s/87950547348

COLLEGE OF THE DESERT MISSION: College of the Desert is an inclusive, studentcentered community college providing high-quality degree, certificate, and transfer programs that are accessible, affordable, and responsive to the diverse needs of students and our community. By preparing workforce professionals and leaders, the College enhances the local economy, closes persistent equity gaps, and improves the quality of life in the Coachella Valley and surrounding communities

***Persons with disabilities may make a written request for a disability-related modification or accommodation, including for auxiliary aids or services, to take part in the Senate meeting. Requests should be directed to the Academic Senate President and/or Secretary as soon in advance of the Senate meeting as possible. The Senate minutes of the meeting are the official record of the actions of the Senate. The Senate meetings are governed by the Ralph M. Brown Act (California Code 54950 through 54962).

Senate Executive Members:

Corbyn Wild, President; John Learned, Curriculum; Kurt Spurgin, Educational Policies & Practices; Yolanda Bender, Ed Tech & Distance Ed; Leif Jordan, Faculty Development; Kristie Camacho, Outcomes & Assessment

Senators:

Christina Dodough, Adjunct; Michael Gladych, Adjunct; Cameron Miller, Applied Science; Lisa Soccio, Arts & Media; Kurt Struwe, Business; Ed Reed, Communications & Humanities; Victoria Bautista, General Counseling; Health Sciences TBD; Maria Herrera, Library, DE, Student Support Services; Jorge Perez, Math & Computer Science; Giuseppe Vezzoli, Science & Engineering; Eliu Benavides, Social Sciences; Student Liaison tbd

Guests:

Recorder:

Cheryl Louise Etter, Academic Senate

Quorum 9 Majority 10 Subject to Brown Act: Yes

1. Call to Order/Roll Call

1.1 Public Comments

2. Action Items

- 2.1 Approval of Agenda
- 2.2 Approval of May 25, 2023 Draft Minutes
- 2.3 Consent
 - 2.3.1 Faculty Development: Ratification of Sabbatical Committee Chair Oceana Collins
 - 2.3.2 Faculty Development: Ratification of Professional Advancement Committee Chair: Brian Fotinakes
 - 2.3.3 EPP (Ed Policies & Practices): Ratification of Equivalency Chair: Leif Jordan
 - 2.3.4 Curriculum Courses approved through September 5, 2023
- 2.4 Items removed from Consent
- 2.5 Second Reading
- 2.6 First Reading
- 2.6.1 Educational Policies & Practices: Administrative Procedure 4101: Independent Study

Add AP 4101 from EPP

3. Information/Discussion Items

- 3.1 Student Spotlight Meet your Nursing Students
- 3.2 Student Spotlight Meet your DSPS (Disabled Student Programs & Services)
 Students
- 3.3 ZTC/OER Information Jin An-Dunning
- 3.4 Administrative Support for Senate and Senate Committees
 - EPP: Rosie Acosta
 - OAC: Tina Gonzalez
 - Ed Tech & DE: Katherine Scoville
 - All Faculty Senate, Faculty Development, Curriculum, and general senate support for faculty: Cheryl Louise Etter

- FLEX and New Faculty support: Cheryl Louise Etter
- Emeriti and Resolutions: Cheryl Louise Etter
- Senate Hiring Committee Support: Cheryl Louise Etter
- 3.5 IT (Information Technology) Updates: Stuart Davis, Michael Gayle and Florante Roa
- 3.6 The Great Alumni Hunt, Catherine Abbott

4. Reports/Updates

4.1 EPP: Kurt Spurgin

4.2 Ed Tech & DE: Yolanda Bender

4.3 FDC: Leif Jordan

4.4 OAC: Kristie Camacho4.5 Curriculum: John Learned

4.6 Student Rep:

4.7 President: Corbyn Wild

5. Good of the Order

6. Future Agenda Topics

7. Adjournment

Next Meeting

Thursday September 28, 2023

12:30 pm - 1:50 pm

https://collegeofthedesert-edu.zoom.us/s/87950547348